I’m still here, honest gov

It’s been a while since I posted last, I have a few things written up to post about, but to be honest – I’m just not in the mood right now.

I’ve just finished a 3 month project for a client that was really rather stressful and ultimately not much fun at all. Which was a shame as it had all the hallmarks of something that could have been glorious. For the first time in my career, I said no when the contract extension date came up, and have been much happier since.

It’s weird, but sometimes you need a not-much-fun project to remind you how lucky a lot of us in digital are – often working with great people, on exciting projects, delivering superb results. It’s so much fun, it often doesn’t feel like work; more an extension of a hobby or passion already present. But then once in a while something pops up that is just not really what you expected: people don’t deliver on time, what they deliver is really below par, what started off as a great idea becomes a wobbly mess from lack of planning and correct staffing.

It’s a good reminder that ideas are really easy, the magic lies in their development and details. I’ve been so lucky working with the people I have in the past, I sometimes think that’s normal when actually I’ve just been very fortunate to work with mind-blowing brilliant people.

Still, I’m now doing some work for the Guardian next week, and then I’m on holiday for a bit. After that I’ve got an exciting project which will hopefully have budget clearance to go, and then I’m guessing you won’t be able to shut me up!

About Thayer Prime

Tall. Eats a lot. Talks too much. I tweet over @thayer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

